Rare - I almost have a feeling of puppy-training success....

General discussion on all labradoodle-related matters - anything not otherwise covered by specific forums on the site.
Milo17

Rare - I almost have a feeling of puppy-training success....

Post by Milo17 » 22 May 2018, 19:42

I have been struggling with my clever doodle for the past weeks. Once over 14 months he became a teenage terror. When he was bored he'd bark at me, jump up and hit me with his big paws (knocked me clean over once), and bite my bottom. I got to the stage when I was really thinking I was not a good enough owner for him, and I phoned the RSPCA.

But they suggested a dog psychologist, who really helped. She explained his need not just to be active but also to interact with me. I started training - heel, up on bench, front paws up and back down, back paws up and front down, jump over, middle (between legs), go round (move from right side to left and back). I had never expected this kind of relationship with my new dog because all the other dogs I have had have not needed such intense interaction. But dear little Milo loves it. He is now sleeping happily next to me, waiting for his next "session" of training.

Pollydoodle

Re: Rare - I almost have a feeling of puppy-training success

Post by Pollydoodle » 22 May 2018, 23:08

8) :D Fabulous, so glad you found the key that connects you! He sounds a super clever doodle who needs to use his brain cells.
Kudos to you for persevering and for making me smile a lot!
Love it! Thanks for sharing

tynkerbelluk

Post by tynkerbelluk » 23 May 2018, 00:19