Energetic pup

If you would like to, we invite you to post a short introduction about yourself and your interest in Labradoodles.
PoppyMeadow

Energetic pup

Post by PoppyMeadow » 01 Dec 2015, 09:30

Hello everyone, me and my husband have a Labradoodle pup who is 12 weeks old. We're complete novices when it comes to dogs and the last 3 weeks have been a very steep learning curve. We're active people who love being outside and wanted an active, companiable dog. She's very energetic which we don't mind but the energy quite often seems to tip over into manic spells where she tears around the room, grabbing and jumping on everything- not good. We're taking her out for two 15-20 minute walks a day which she's not very entusiastic about but then goes manic again when we're back inside. My question is, is this just normal puppy behaviour that will calm down later or are we doing something wrong? Would be really helpful to hear from others about the energy of Labradoodle pups and how it changes as they get older.

dexysback

Re: Energetic pup

Post by dexysback » 01 Dec 2015, 11:25

Hi it could be just being a pup ,but i know some foods could make them hyper ,im lucky my dog even from a pup was very relaxed and laid back .They do calm down when older ,i would take her or him to puppy training and by him some puzzle toys to keep him occupied indoors and try and relax and your pup will be fine, enjoy they grow up so quick.
ImageImage

We5Kings

Post by We5Kings » 01 Dec 2015, 13:14